June 23, 1998
Refugee Camp Records
Rap, Urban, Alternative Rap

Album Review

As a protegé of hip-hop supergroup the Fugees, and a member of adjunct group the Refugee All Stars, John Forte exhibits the same intriguing mix of street and mainstream culture that helped the band rise above all prescribed boundaries. Poly Sci displays the same pumpin' beats blended with pop elements and articulate lyrics, that made groundbreaking hits out of The Score and Wyclef Jean Presents the Carnival, both of which Forte wrote, produced and performed on. Filled with all the swagger and attitude essential to hip-hop, yet tempered with softer pop sensibilities, as on the quirky "Ninety Nine (Flash the Message)," and the slightly psychedelic "Madina Passage," and the easygoing title tune, this debut promises a flourishing solo career for Forte. [Poly Sci was issued in a "clean" version with all profanity removed.]
Rosalind Cummings-Yeates, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hot (Intro)
  2. They Got Me
  3. Ninety Nine (Flash the Message)
  4. God Is Love God Is War
  5. We Got This
  6. P.B.E. (Powerful, Beautiful, Excellent)
  7. The Right One: Father to Son Interlude
  8. Madina Passage
  9. All You Got to Do
  10. Poly Sci
  11. Born to Win: Riddle of Steele Interlude
  12. Flash the Message
  13. Hot (Outro)