Rap, Hardcore Rap, Soundtracks, Urban

Album Review

Thanks to Coolio's monolithic single "Gangsta's Paradise," the soundtrack to Michelle Pfeiffer's urban school drama tore up the charts. Even with a single as powerful as Coolio's masterpiece, the Dangerous Minds soundtrack wouldn't have stayed at the top of the charts, selling over three million copies, if there was only one good song on the album. Like many soundtracks of the mid-'90s, Dangerous Minds is an expertly-crafted urban R&B/hip-hop collection, featuring stellar production and songwriting from a number of the best and most popular artists of 1995. Admittedly, "Gangsta's Paradise" remains the standout, but there's not much disappointing material on the rest of the disc.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Gangsta's Paradise
  2. Curiosity
  3. Havin Thangs
  4. Problems
  5. True O.G.
  6. Put Ya Back into It
  7. Don't Go There
  8. Feel the Funk
  9. It's Alright
  10. A Message for Your Mind
  11. Gin & Juice
  12. This Is the Life